Village of Sleepy Hollow Planning and Zoning Commission August 14, 2023, Meeting Minutes

Commissioners Present: Kevin Erickson

William Hof

Jerome Kopacz

Acting Chairman Erik Watters

Absent:

Commissioner/Chairman Donald Plass, Commissioner Atilano, Commissioner Buskey

Guests:

Village President Stephan Pickett

Acting Chairman Watters opened the meeting at 6:31 p.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance. Roll call was taken and a quorum was established.

Approval of the Agenda:

Commissioner Kopacz moved to approve the agenda with Commissioner Hof seconding the motion. The motion carried on a voice vote.

Approval of Minutes

Commissioner Hof moved to approve the minutes of the July 10, 2023, meeting, with Commissioner Kopacz seconding the motion. The motion carried on a voice vote.

New Business:

- a. Begin discussion of potential maximum impervious surface regulations.
 - Commissioner Hof shared research completed on maximum impervious surface regulations for several municipalities in the Chicago-land area, including the following:
 - i. Barrington: 35%
 - ii. Long Grove (R1-R2): 40%
 - iii. Wayne: None
 - Commissioner Kopacz shared research that included the same municipalities
 - Commissioner Erickson shared research that included Evanston in addition to the above, which varies based on property size, and is as high as 80%. In addition, Commissioner Erickson shared a prepared analysis that included varying inputs or impervious surfaces, to illustrate and communicate the difficulty in meeting any objective the commission may have to maintain the feel of the village, while having reasonable limits on residents making updates and improvements to their homes.
 - Commissioner Erickson motioned to table discussion until input is received on specific items in question from the Village Attorney, with Commissioner Kopacz seconding the motion.

Old Business:

- a. Continued discussion of changes to the zoning code
 - Tabled via voice vote until next session

Public Comment: None.

Commissioner Erickson moved to adjourn with a second from Commissioner Kopacz. The motion carried on voice vote and the meeting adjourned again at 7:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Commissioner Kevin Erickson Acting Recorder of Record